Your Browser is Out of Date and Not Supported


Fields taking shape for 2019 USATF 1 Mile Road Championships at Grand Blue Mile

Grand Blue Mile race officials announced preliminary fields for the 2019 USA Track & Field 1 Mile Road Championships set for Tuesday, April 23, in Des Moines. A world-class group of elite milers will headline the event along with approximately 3,500 participants from across the nation who will compete among the recreational and amateur competitive divisions.

“We’re excited to continue the tradition of welcoming high-profile, high-caliber athletes to Grand Blue Mile in partnership with the Drake Relays,” said Chris Verlengia, Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield’s senior brand marketing manager and Grand Blue Mile co-race director. “As Grand Blue Mile marks its tenth anniversary, being entrusted to host a fifth national championship in 10 years provides even more reason to celebrate the tremendous impact this special event has throughout central Iowa and beyond.”

This year’s race features a top prize of $5,000 each for the men’s and women’s champions with the potential to earn an additional $2,500 for setting a new course record — currently 4.00.0 (2017) and 4:32.7 (2014), respectively. Overall, $30,000 in prize money will be contested across the men’s and women’s championship divisions.

In the men’s division, returning to defend his title is Riley Masters. He will be joined by:

  • Harun Abda
  • Julius Bor
  • Mikey Brannigan
  • Joe Coffey
  • Jake Edwards
  • David Elliott
  • Nick Harris
  • Daniel Herrera
  • Tripp Hurt
  • Lawi Lalang
  • Brandon Lasater
  • Will Leer
  • Mile Marsella
  • Kyle Medina
  • Kyle Merber
  • Chad Noelle
  • Jay Welp

In the women’s division, returning to defend her title is Emily Lipari. She will be joined by Heather Kampf, three-time Grand Blue Mile champion, and:

  • Grace Barnett
  • Savannah Camacho-Colon
  • Hannah Fields
  • Therese Haiss
  • Nikki Hiltz
  • Marisa Howard
  • Rebecca Mehra
  • Shannon Osika
  • Megan Rolland
  • Ashley Stinson
  • Maddie Van Beek
  • Alexina Wilson

Additional entries to the Men’s and Women’s USATF 1 Mile Road Championships fields will be finalized next week.

Mascot Madness Charity Challenge returns
Iowa’s most popular mascots are back to compete against each other in the Mascot Madness Charity Challenge. Mascots will run the backstretch of the Grand Blue Mile race course in a friendly competition. The winning mascot from each division will be awarded a $1,000 prize for their school or organization’s charitable foundation.

Confirmed mascots in the “fast” division include:

  • Viktor (Grandview University)
  • Rosie the Reader (Des Moines Public Library)
  • Wanda the Wallaby (Blank Park Zoo)
  • Sam the Ram (Iowa Educational Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired)

Confirmed mascots in the “furriest” division include:

  • Champ (Iowa Games)
  • TC (University of Northern Iowa)
  • Cubbie Bear (Iowa Cubs)
  • Spike (Drake University)
  • Cy (Iowa State University)
  • Herky (University of Iowa)

Register today

Youth and adult registration for the Grand Blue Mile is $20 and $25, respectively, with proceeds supporting school-based wellness programs in association with Iowa Kidstrong and the historic Drake Relays.