Your Browser is Out of Date and Not Supported


Fields set for 2018 USATF 1 Mile Road Championships at Grand Blue Mile

Grand Blue Mile race officials announced the fields for the 2018 USA Track & Field 1 Mile Road Championships set for Tuesday, April 24, in Des Moines. A world-class group of elite runners will headline the event along with approximately 3,000 participants from across the nation who will compete among the recreational and amateur competitive divisions.

“We’re confident the fields we’ve recruited for these championships will thrill even the most casual fan,” said Chris Verlengia, Wellmark Blue Cross® and Blue Shield®’s senior brand marketing manager and Grand Blue Mile official. “These athletes embody the true spirit of the Grand Blue Mile — a commitment to healthy habits and the perseverance to achieve their goals. You don’t have to be a runner to be inspired by their stories.”

This year’s race features a top prize of $5,000 each for the men’s and women’s champions with the potential to earn an additional $2,500 for setting a new course record — currently 4.00.0 (2017) and 4:32.7 (2014), respectively. Overall, $30,000 in prize money will be contested across the men’s and women’s championship divisions. Vying for the national title and a share of the prize purse are Olympians and world champions, including:

Men’s championship:

Leo Manzano

  • 2012 Olympic Silver Medalist (1500m)
  • 2-time USA Outdoor Champion (1500m; 2012, 2014)
  • Mile personal record: 3:50.64

Garrett Heath

  • 2-time USATF 1 Mile Road Champion (2013, 2015)
  • 8-time NCAA All-American (Stanford University)
  • Mile personal record: 3:51.0 (road)

Riley Masters

  • Big 12 1500m Champion (2012)
  • Grand Blue Mile finishes: 4th in 2015, 3rd in 2016, 2nd in 2017
  • Mile personal record: 3:56.15

Women’s Championship:

Katie Mackey

  • 2017 USATF 1 Mile Road Champion (Grand Blue Mile)
  • 2018 World Indoor Championships finalist (3000m)
  • Mile personal best: 4:23.5 (road)

Brenda Martinez

  • 2016 USA Indoor Champion (1500m)
  • 2013 World Championships Bronze Medalist (800m)
  • Mile personal record: 4:18.4 (road)

Shannon Osika

  • 4th place, 2017 USATF 1 Mile Road Championship (Grand Blue Mile)
  • 6-time NCAA All-American (University of Michigan)
  • Mile personal record: 4:25.1 (road)


Men’s USATF 1 Mile Road Championship Women’s USATF 1 Mile Road Championship
·         Eric Avila ·         Becca Addison
·         Dylan Blankenbaker ·         Sarah Brown
·         Emmanuel Bor ·         Savannah Colon
·         Mikey Brannigan ·         Hannah Fields
·         Pat Casey ·         Eleanor Fulton
·         Graham Crawford ·         Therese Haiss
·         Dey Dey ·         Jessica Kamilos
·         Brandon Hazouri ·         Emily Lipari
·         Nick Harris ·         Katie Mackey
·         Garrett Heath ·         Megan Mansy
·         Daniel Herrera ·         Brenda Martinez
·         Tripp Hurt ·         Dana Mecke
·         Brannon Kidder ·         Baylee Mires
·         Brandon Lasater ·         Shannon Osika
·         Leo Manzano ·         Meghan Peyton
·         Riley Masters ·         Rachel Schneider
·         Eluid Rutto ·         Molly Seidel
·         Jackson Thomas ·         Rachel Weber
·         Henry Wynne ·         Alexina Wilson
·         Izaic Yorks

Set the Pace Challenge
A reminder that it’s not just the elites competing for prize money. Communities have a chance to win $10,000 to use on a project that promotes safe and accessible places in which to be active, such as a park, playground or trail. The community with the highest percentage of its residents participating in GBM — measured by the number of registrants for a given ZIP Code against its total population — will be awarded the $10,000 as part of the Grand Blue Mile-Healthiest State Initiative’s Set the Pace challenge.

Register today
Registration for the Grand Blue Mile is open and costs $20 for youth (ages 17 and under) and $25 for adults until April 21. Event proceeds support Iowa Kidstrong school-based fitness programs and the historic Drake Relays.